Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

San Diego Part 1: Vegan store and the Loving Hut

on May 22, 2010

I just got back from my first real vacation in a two years..woo hoo! Last week I flew to San Diego to visit my sister and her partner. There are a ton of vegan options in San Diego so, of course, yours truly was gonna check ’em all out. We started with the All Vegan Store. What I wouldn’t give to have a store like this in Boston. Tons of awesome vegan products. I got a great tshirt from the same company that makes Earth shoes. It says “vegan” on it and is made of bamboo. I’ve started to buy a few products made out of bamboo and I really love the fabric..a little bit more silky than cotton. This particular tshirt has UV protection and supposedly keeps you 2-3 degrees fahrenheit cooler in the heat. Which was perfect for our trip to the desert a few days later!

The vegan store

Inside the vegan store

Inside the vegan store

Next up, the Loving Hut, a vegan restaurant that is part of a chain of “Loving Huts” in the U.S. It was fairly busy when we got there. The service was great. However, the food itself wasn’t anything too special but it is definitely a great option for some regular vegan chow if you’re visiting San Diego.

The Loving Hut

The Loving Hut

Loving Hut sign

Loving Hut sign

Vegan wonton soup

Vegan wonton soup

Spring rolls

Spring rolls

Veggie fried rice

Veggie fried rice

I think that I’m just becoming too picky after too many amazing experiences at vegan restaurants in NYC…not at all a fair comparison! However, I can’t complain about the Loving Hut..the food was yummy, familiar and fairly cheap so it’s definitely worth checking out. More of San Diego coming shortly! In the meantime, be sure to check out the TofuXpress giveaway at An Apple A Day. I would love one of these guys..you seriously don’t want to know how low-tech my current pressing method is.

5 responses to “San Diego Part 1: Vegan store and the Loving Hut

  1. Mihl says:

    How can a shirt have uv protection? That sounds really interesting!
    That wonton soup looks absolutely amazing! I love clear soups with dumplings.

    • amandatrombley says:

      I’ve been hearing about clothing with UV protection for a while…it’s getting easier to find it at places that sell outdoorsy clothing like L.L.Bean and Lands’ End. Lands’ End has some stuff at least here in the U.S. so they probably have some in Germany too if you get a chance to check them out. I don’t know how it works but supposedly some of these garments are 30-40 spf. Interesting stuff!

  2. Jes says:

    I’ve heard Loving Hut isn’t all that good, but I moved before the new one came to GA. Cheap and pretty good is definitely a nice vegan thing though! And the tshirt sounds rad–gotta love UV protection!

  3. How cool! I need to get me one of those shirts.

    Too bad the Loving Hut wasn’t the greatest, I too get quite picky after experiencing awesome things. Especially when it comes to nature and wildlife. We went to Yellowstone a couple of weeks ago, and while the crowds were all interested in a few buffalo that were quite a few yards away, we were having fun with a hungry raven that was eating all our peanuts instead. We have seen so many buffalo and they have been so close to our car (we always stay inside – safety first!) that seeing them so far away doesn’t get us all hyper and excited anymore. Hmmm… I had a point when I started to type this? Oh yes, that’s right, I understand being picky about things that are just good when you’re used to awesome. There! 😀

  4. Gauri Radha गौरी राधा says:

    The vegan store looks amazing, wish there was one in Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

