Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

NYC Part Three: Harlem’s Downtown Juice Bar and Agent Speed Dating

on May 14, 2010

Finally, the end of my NYC trip! The first part of the day, I went to the last day of the writer’s conference. Right before I reached the entrance to the National Club for the Arts, a squirrel hopped right in my path, jumped up in a tree next to me and stared me in the eyes. “Okay,” I told him/her. “I’ll do my best to get this book published!”The squirrels have been pestering me terribly to get this book written. Really. 🙂

In the morning, several authors spoke about their experiences with the publishing world. It was fascinating! They discussed self-publishing, working with an agent and how to promote your book. I was all ears. After lunch which was a non-descript buffet with few vegan options (hello rippled potato chips, salad and tons of fruit), it was time to meet with the literary agents. I had no idea what to expect. The agents were set up, panel-style, at the same table on stage where the authors’ panel was. Each agent introduced themselves, talked about the kinds of books/authors they represent, and what kind of book topics they are interested in considering. After that, the agents were dispersed to individual points through the conference area and then the crazy began. Imagine 250 women, all wanting to talk to multiple agents in a two hour time period, rushing to get to the agent of their choice. Madness! I rushed to my first choice only to find I was 8th in line. And so it went for each agent. By 6pm, I had spoken to four agents and all were interested in my book idea. The very last agent I spoke to had actually rescued a baby squirrel herself and was very excited about my idea. This is all very good news..some people were turned away by all the agents so I am very fortunate that everyone I spoke to likes my concept. Now I just have to get my book proposal written and let’s see if one of these four agents wants to commit to representing me and “Squirrelly: A Love Story for Nuts.” Woo hoo!

After some quick vegan yums at my sister’s I headed to Uptown Juice Bar in Harlem which is a short ten minute walk from my sister’s place.

The Uptown Juice Bar in Harlem, NYC

The Uptown Juice Bar in Harlem, NYC

This is a little gem that my sister discovered recently. Off the beaten track, cheap and all vegan! Not the most gourmet meal in town but freakin’ awesome if you are in NYC on a budget!

The hot case

The hot case

Drinks menu

Drinks menu

Strawberry vegan cheese danish

Strawberry vegan cheese danish

Danish close-up

Danish close-up

Baked goods

Baked goods

Coconut cake

Coconut cake

More goodies

More goodies

Even more goodies

Even more goodies

The back of the restaurant

The back of the restaurant

The dining area

The dining area

Artwork

Artwork

My juice

My juice

Lovely sign

Lovely sign

It’s definitely worth a visit if you’re in NYC..not too far from the 4/5 line’s 125th street stop. I’m like a blogging machine this week..’cause I’m on vacation. Coming up next..details from our vegan bake sale last weekend AND photos from vacation-in-process in San Diego! And if you missed the link to the vegan nutrition guide in my last post, I hope you’ll check it out.

2 responses to “NYC Part Three: Harlem’s Downtown Juice Bar and Agent Speed Dating

  1. Mary says:

    The food looks fabulous! Interesting blog about your experience at the conference too.

  2. Felicity says:

    That is really awesome about your book. How exciting!

Leave a Reply

