Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

A Brief Interruption: Vegan Nutrition Guide Is Now Available!

on May 14, 2010

Hey! Excuse the brief interruption in my NYC series of posts. I’m beyond thrilled to tell you that a project I have been working on for a several months is finally complete! Last year, I began working with the Boston Vegan Association’s leadership team. One of my first assignments was to take on the development of a vegan nutrition guide. After many, many iterations and a lot of “wow, I didn’t know that” moments,  our guide is finally complete. Written by vegan nutritionist, Dina Aronson, and peer reviewed by nutritionists with expertise in vegan nutrition, this guide is a great resource for new vegans and even vegans who feel that they are up with the latest in vegan nutrition (I certainly thought I was).

Some interesting parts about this guide:

  • Vitamin D. It’s in the news a lot. Should vegans be supplementing? And if so, how?
  • Vitamin B12. Why vegans need to be mindful of getting enough B12. Many people use B12 as “proof” that a vegan diet cannot provide you with all the nutrients that you need. This is false and the guide explains why.
  • Somewhat common nutrition objections to going vegan such as soy or nut allergies. My favorite part: “I tried a vegan diet and felt unhealthy. What did I do wrong?”
  • Plus clear explanations to all those questions I’m sure you get as much as I do such as “Where do you get your protein?” “Where do you get your calcium?” “What about protein combining?” “If a vegan diet is cholesterol free where do you get your cholesterol?”

The guide is only available currently on the BVA’s web site but we hope to have a brochure format ready this summer. This guide should be a great resource to any new vegans AND long-time vegans who are doing vegan advocacy or just need the backup (to reassure your mom/father/aunt/boyfriend/girlfriend/non-traditional family unit who have been worried sick for years that you’re going to turn into a big carrot). I  hope you will check it out and spread the word to other vegans!

5 responses to “A Brief Interruption: Vegan Nutrition Guide Is Now Available!

  1. mihl says:

    That is totally awesome! Congrats and thank you!

  2. Thanks for such a great resource post! I really wish you would have made it to Burlington, but I can understand not making the drive. We’re talking about Boston in late July. If we do, it would be great to meet!

    • amandatrombley says:

      I’d love that Tami! Please definitely be in touch..I would love to connect in person and show you ’round town.

      Thanks Mihl!

  3. […] Vegan Boston and Beyond A Brief Interruption: Vegan Nutrition Guide Is Now Available! […]

  4. shellyfish says:

    Trying to get caught up on my favourite blogs…this is so cool! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful resource!

Leave a Reply

