Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Happy Earth Day!

on April 22, 2010

First a big thank you to Phebes soy candles for the lovely candles that they sent after I won a sweet little contest on Vegan Beauty Review last month. These candles are amazing..so fragrant and of course, vegan. They let me pick out the scents that I wanted but I have to say, although they all rock, the blackberry cassis mini-sample is by far my favorite. The scent I can’t even begin to explain because it’s so amazing!

Soy Candles by Phebes

Soy Candles by Phebes

Simply white and clean!

Simply white and clean!

Blackberry Cassis Sample

Blackberry Cassis Sample

And before I forget, here’s a shot of the little gifty package that I sent my PIF winners from over a year ago..I scrapped in just a little over a year later but better late than never! Homemade chocolates, necklaces, orange ginger marmalade and of course, an autographed picture of Squirrelly in all her cuteness.

My PIF--Paying It Forward

My PIF--Paying It Forward

Homemade vegan chocolates

Homemade vegan chocolates

Now, back to Earth Day. Did you know this is the 40th anniversary of Earth Day? Yay! Here is by far my favorite find of the year: re-useable fruit bags that I use to bring my apples and bananas to the office. They never get bruised in these guys and add a big of fun color to my day.

Fruit sack

Fruit sack

Some things that I plan to focus on this year:

  • Eat out less and when I do, say no to straws, covers, lids and extra stuff that I just don’t need
  • Keep the plastic outta the house thanks to Felicity’s good example in her Plastics Reduction Challenge
  • Buy local as much as possible

Of course, the number one thing we can all do for the Earth this year is to go vegan but I’m preaching to the crowd, right?! Anyway, I’m off to visit my favorite local products store this afternoon, Greenward to celebrate the day. I’ll be back soon with that promised review of Gobo in NYC as well as more NYC restaurant reviews and news of the Mother of All Vegan Bake Sales which yours truly is organizing on Mother’s Day in Boston!

3 responses to “Happy Earth Day!

  1. shellyfish says:

    Ooooh, soy candles! I’ve never seen/tried them, but they sound so lovely.
    Happy Earth Day to you, too! I can actually remember the first time I’d heard of it/went to a function – it was in 1990. I was so excited.
    Good for you with your PIFs. I sent mine all out, but can you believe I didn’t ever get one of the 3 that I won? It’s ok, though, just funny!
    Mother’s Day bakesale is a great idea!

  2. those candles sound/look great! soy candles are always a better choice 😉

  3. fortheloveofguava says:

    everything was lovely! I’m sorry I’ve been such a horrible inconsistent poster! And like the new blog theme!

Leave a Reply

