Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Potluck!!!

on April 8, 2010

Where have the weeks gone? I’m so so behind with my blog updates but wanted to share the results of an amazing potluck that I went to on “Pi Day” last month. You all probably got the Pi reference, huh? It went over my head. I mean, I know what “Pi” is, 3.14 BUT I didn’t know that, although somewhat obscure, people do indeed celebrate “Pi” day on 3.14 (not sure how that works in other countries who put the date as d/m/y though!). So on Sunday, March 14th, during a horrible rain storm, I headed over to an address on the other side of Davis Square where I live to meet up with a group of vegans from the Boston Vegan Association. Since it was “Pi” day I volunteered to bring some pizza Pi!

I had in my head for a very very long time that someday I wanted to attempt white pizza. I used to love white pizza in my vegetarian, pre-vegan days. Something about the spices just really made me love it. I had a container of Daiya vegan cheeze in the freezer so I started with that while thinking of my ingredients. I needed a ricotta type base now to be used instead of sauce. Hum..I remembered the amazing tofu cashew ricotta from Veganomicon. I researched a few other options but decided this recipe was the one for me. The crust I took from “The Vegan Table.” I roasted a ton of garlic in olive oil and pulled out the rosemary. So crust, tofu cashew ricotta, roasted garlic and rosemary, and finally the daiya cheeze on top. Here’s how it turned out:

Vegan White Pizza

Vegan White Pizza

It was gone within 15 minutes. I got just one small slice to myself and I was really happy with the results! This one’s a keeper!

Close up of vegan white pizza

A delicious Sheep’s Pie!

Sheep's pie

Sheep's pie

Closeup of Sheep's Pie

Closeup of Sheep's Pie

Swedish "meat"balls

Swedish "meat"balls

Lintzer Pie

Linzer Pie

Closeup of Lintzer Pie

Closeup of Linzer Pie

Raw chocolate pie

Raw chocolate pie

Blueberry pie

Blueberry pie

Lemon Rosemary Cookies

Lemon Rosemary Cookies

Chocolate Mousse Pie

Chocolate Mousse Pie


I remarked to myself that although we have some good vegan restaurants in town, if you want the BEST vegan food in Boston, just host a potluck. You will not be disappointed! Coming soon..my review of Gobo, a vegan restaurant in NYC! If you are into fuzzies, check out my fuzziesandfriends blog for an update on Squirrelly and my “Degu-versary”!

4 responses to “Potluck!!!

  1. Painfully delicious! All of it! I want it all! I haven’t had a chance to try Daiya yet, but I’m getting impatient now.

  2. Amanda says:

    Wow – your pizza looks fantastic. That literally has been my #1 on my to-do-list with Daiya whenever it is that I find it. Glad yours was a success!

  3. shellyfish says:

    My goodness! Everything looks so amazing. I wanted to do something special for Pi day, but totally flaked out. I need to get down with it next year.

  4. Felicity says:

    WOW, the pizza looks awesome. I will have to try that sometime.

Leave a Reply

