Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Tea Time

on February 23, 2010

I just love coffee places. To me, meeting a friend over a coffee/chai/tea/steamer is the perfect way to pass some free time. Until recently I really not happy with a lot of the coffee shops in the Boston area. I felt a little like Goldilocks trying out the bears’ porridge. This was didn’t have soy, this one had weird hours, and this one never had any tables. Goldilocks (me) was always looking for the perfect place with the perfect chai latte w/steamed soy. Things have changed. Goldi is trying to save money so she’s budgeting her drinks out to just 1-2 a week. And somehow the coffee places in the area have adjusted to the recession and are suddenly offering everything that I want. Which presents me with a dilemma: on a budget with really awesome coffee places nearby. Argh. So I settled on a compromise: a tea latte or steamer at a coffee place 1-2 times a week. Typically Wednesday morning is Latte Day. On the weekends, I’ll sometimes go to coffee with friends.

So what do I do in the meantime? Well, I’ve been trying out the most interesting teas (at least I think they are!):

Republic of Tea..pricey but I couldn’t resist..
This has been a favorite lately. I mix a little almond milk and some agave with it in the morning and it’s makes a great mug to take me through the morning:

Coconut Cocoa Tea

Coconut Cocoa Tea

I found this tea on the Republic of Tea web site and I couldn’t believe my eyes–chocolate and strawberry?!! I was thinking about ordering it online but then just happened to find one single container of it in my local Whole Foods..just one and you can be sure I grabbed it. Now if you are thinking chocolate covered strawberries, this tea is not quite that but it’s got some really great chocolate and strawberry flavors. I had it as a treat after lunch or in the early evening. Because it is a rooibos tea, it’s caffeine free. It’s sold out until 2011 (yes, really) on the Republic of Tea web site but a google search for “chocolate strawberry tea” should yield some results.

Strawberry Chocolate Tea

Strawberry Chocolate Tea

I can’t wait to try these two! They will have to wait until next month when I get through the current stash.

Double Chocolate Matte

Double Chocolate Matte

Strawberry Vanilla Tea

Strawberry Vanilla Tea


Celestial Seasonings–Brings me back and keeps my wallet happy

Celestial Seasonings brings back memories of my mom having her afternoon Lemon Zinger tea when I would come home from school. I literally grew up with Celestial. Although I love their Zinger teas, my favorites are Roastaroma and Tropic of Strawberry.

I picked this one up years ago thinking, no way could it be like coffee. Well, it beat my expectations. Now, I am not a coffee drinker (can’t handle the caffeine) so true coffee drinkers would probably disagree with me but I think that we might be able to compromise on describing this as a Mexican flavored tea substitute. With a little almond milk, delicious!

Roastaroma Tea

Roastaroma Tea

YUM! I just love fruity teas and the Tropic of Strawberry doesn’t disappoint. Celestial has many fruity flavors that are great for iced tea in the summer. Speaking of iced tea, I was boiling hot water for iced tea for years before I discovered “fridge tea” where you basically put in a few tea bags into your non-boiled cold water, leave it overnight and presto iced tea. Easy easy easy.

Tropic of Strawberry

Tropic of Strawberry

Up next: review of the Aerolatte, a battery operated “milk” frother!

6 responses to “Tea Time

  1. I’m a big fan of the fair trade wild blueberry tea. That strawberry vanilla sounds wonderful, too. You’re right, they’re pricey, but worth it.

  2. Jenn says:

    Mmm chocolate strawberry sounds divine. If you ever go to Boulder, you should tour the Celestial Seasonings factory. They have a whole garage that is the “mint room” so the mint teas don’t mingle with everything else. It’s almost unbearably minty, but very cool.

  3. fortheloveofguava says:

    mm… coconut cocoa?! Sounds divine! I’m loving Celestial Seasonings Tension Tamer and The Good Earth’s Sweet & Spicy! Mr. Guava will even drink those!

  4. Actually my habit is drinking tea 5 times per day. Because which makes me to be refreshed. I liked this post very much

  5. shellyfish says:

    Oh my goodness they all look so good! I just love delicious teas – chai, vanilla, almond, chocolate…sigh.

  6. Felicity says:

    Those all look great. I’ve never thought of coconut or chocolate as tea flavours, but I’d try those in a second.

Leave a Reply

