Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Donkeys and Danishes

on February 8, 2010
The Donkey Show

The Donkey Show

Hello! It’s so cold here in Boston. No snow just bone-chilling weather. Last night I saw/participated in the Donkey Show, a show based in a fictional disco from the 70s. I went with a great group of friends who really got into the spirit by dressing up 70s style. Just one problem we discovered: disco gear isn’t exactly the warmest winter attire! We froze our bottoms off before we got to the club but once inside, we danced the night away..all the way to The Last Dance.

And let me tell you with my sequined tank top from the consignment store down the street, I was such a Dancing Queen:

After all the excitement last night, I just wanted to stay inside today. And of course, being home, always puts me in the mood for cooking.What is that mystery lump of something in my deli drawer in the fridge? Well, hello–it’s mochi! If you’re like me, you may have passed mochi many many times in the refrigerated aisle at Whole Foods and wondered what that block of brownish stuff was. Or maybe not..maybe you’ve been on to the charms of mochi way before you read this! Last summer, I picked up some garlic sesame flavored mochi at the market. It sat in my fridge for the longest time before I finally tried it. It was amazing! Savory, crispy..reminded me a bit of a Japanese rice cracker. I had them with soup instead of doing a roll or bread.  The next trip to the market I saw that Whole Foods carries cinnamon raisin mochi. I had no idea what to expect but I bought the mochi anyway and brought it home. Again it sat in my fridge for a long time (sensing a trend here?!). Finally this weekend while trying to figure out what we had for ingredients for the week’s meals, I uncovered the cinnamon raisin mochi. OH YEAH! I forgot about those. So I flipped the package over while wondering what to do with it and found a little recipe on the back for Raisin Cinnamon Mochi Danishes. WHAT???? I had to try it! You start with a package of raisin cinnamon mochi..mine is from Grainaissance.

Cinnamon Raisin Mochi

Cinnamon Raisin Mochi

Mochi recipe

Mochi recipe

Since the recipe called for honey and cream cheese, it needed to be veganized but that was fairly easy by substituting tofutti and agave. I’ve had mixed luck with different shapes of mochi. They say to cut it into 2 inch squares but that doesn’t always work out perfectly in the oven.

Cutting the mochi into different shapes

Cutting the mochi into different shapes

And that is because, as seen below in this photo, mochi kinda does its own thing..it reminds me of those puffy ceramic crafts that were so big in the 80s..you’d bake them and they’d puff up. Mochi is the same although luckily edible! Don’t be disturbed if your mochi sprouts arms and limbs or weird offshoots. Like I said, it does its own thing.

Baked mochi

Baked mochi

In a small bowl, I whipped together the tofutti, agave, crushed walnuts, and some cinnamon.

Cream cheeze mixture

Cream cheeze mixture

The final product: cinnamon raisin mochi danishes! Verdict: delicious. I would absolutely make these again and probably in the immediate near future. They taste amazing with a cup of green tea on a winter’s day when you want a treat but would like to keep it somewhat healthy.

The final product...mochi danishes!

The final product...mochi danishes!

Raisin Cinnamon Mochi Danishes

4 2-inch squares of cinnamon raisin mochi (I found that triangles worked best for me)

  • 2 tbsp. tofutti or other vegan cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 1 tbsp. agave nectar (maple syrup would work fine too)

Pre-heat your oven to 450 degree F. Bake your cut pieces of mochi on a parchment paper lined baking sheet for 8-10 minutes until the mochi pieces puff up and brown. In a bowl, mix the tofutti/cream cheeze with the nuts and sweetner. Put a teaspoon of this mixture inside of each baked Mochi and serve hot for tea, dessert or even breakfast!

Speaking of tea, check out the promotion that Celestial Seasonings is offering..I received this tea sample in the mail yesterday. Take their “Possibili-teas” quiz and get a free sample of their newest line of green tea.  I know there are fancier brands of tea out there but Celestial always has some good stuff. This green tea is no exception!

A green tea sample from Celestial Seasonings

A green tea sample from Celestial Seasonings

4 responses to “Donkeys and Danishes

  1. Jes says:

    Yeahhh disco to warm up! Seriously, can it get any nastier on the eastern seaboard???

    The mochi danishes look amazing–I’m going to have to pick up a package super soon and give them a whirl!

  2. mihl says:

    Mochi danishes? That sounds crazy in a very good way. It’s freezing over here, too. I’d love to spend all my days right next to the oven.

  3. Felicity says:

    The mochi sounds really good in an alien sort of way. I’ve never seen mochi here.

  4. fortheloveofguava says:

    ooh… I’ve never stuffed my mochi… interesting!

    I’m totally guilty of nuking frozen mochi from the grandma… probably some japanese cardinal sin.. hehe… not to mention I’m probably going to develop some weird radiation effect from not being able to take my eyes of it’s weird alien growth! I like to test my luck and stop it on the brink of explosion!

Leave a Reply

