Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

A Very Vegan Week..

on January 16, 2010

Hello, hello! How was your week? I woke up this morning to a surprise–I had forgotten that it’s a three day weekend! YAY!! This past week was pretty busy at work. I have a working theory that when the weather is cold, business gets busier just ’cause no one wants to go outside 😉 On Thursday night, I gave a quick and fun little presentation to a local group on how to run a webinar. I added in screenshots from the Wizard of Oz as well as Twilight. It was fun to get the group laughing. The meal unfortunately was not easily vegan (cheese lasagna, garlic bread and cream pie for dessert) so I ended up with just a salad and some bread. They did give me a gift certificate to a bookstore which was quite timely seeing as I had just heard a vegan author speak the day before. Melanie Joy is author of “Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, And Wear Cows.” If you are feeling a little shaky on your arguments for veganism (we all start there, right? Our convictions are solid but we haven’t quite got the arguments down yet), you’ll find this book really helpful. Have you ever wondered why your cousin loves her dog but thinks that cows are food? Or maybe wonder why your neighbor keeps parakeets but thinks it’s fine to eat chicken? Melanie, a Ph.D. in social psychology and a professor at the University of Massachusetts, explains the psychological and social constructs that have created a system that she names “carnism.” Here’s a blurb from the publisher’s web site:

Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs and Wear Cows

Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs and Wear Cows

“In her groundbreaking new book, Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows, Melanie Joy explores the invisible system that shapes our perception of the meat we eat, so that we love some animals and eat others without knowing why. She calls this system carnism. Carnism is the belief system, or ideology, that allows us to selectively choose which animals become our meat, and it is sustained by complex psychological and social mechanisms.

Like other “isms” (racism, ageism, etc.), carnism is most harmful when it is unrecognized and unacknowledged. Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows names and explains this phenomenon and offers it up for examination. Unlike the many books that explain why we shouldn’t eat meat, Joy’s book explains why we do eat meat — and thus how we can make more informed choices as citizens and consumers. ”

Melanie Joy, Author "Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, And Wear Cows"

Melanie Joy, Author "Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, And Wear Cows"--excuse the bad photo please!

Yesterday afternoon, H and I found ourselves in Jamaica Plain, a “borough” of Boston. I had heard that a local restaurant, City Feed & Supply had some good vegan sandwiches so we stopped by to check it out. Driving by before I had assumed this place was a hardware store..nope! A den of deliciousness instead…

City Feed & Supply, Jamaica Plain, Boston

City Feed & Supply, Jamaica Plain, Boston

City Feed & Supply..counter area

City Feed & Supply..counter area

Everything is sourced as locally as possible to stock the shelves of the grocery part of the business (the “Supply”) and the counter service (the “Feed”). Sandwiches are a specialty. I was excited to see vegan knishes too..although those must wait for another trip back.

Sandwich menu

Sandwich menu

The Tofurky sandwich was mine…nice that they made the note about if you want the sandwich to be vegan order it on baguette. Bread is one of those food items that I find very difficult to manage. Since I only buy vegan bread, I forget frequently that a lot of bread is not vegan..a seemingly innocence loaf that really doesn’t need to contain dairy or egg often does..grrrr..if I had a list of vegan pet peeves, this would be one of the tops!

Vegan sandwiches

Vegan sandwiches

I can’t even begin to describe how delicious this was..I enjoyed it so much that as I type this the next day, I’m wishing that I had more! I’m not so into the meat analogs but this sandwich would not be the same without the Tofurky.

Tofurky Sandwich

Tofurky Sandwich

Soy chai latte

Soy chai latte

They had very few vegan desserts but that didn’t matter because the vegan cranberry oatmeal cookie was out of this world! This is coming from a chocolate fiend..AND I STILL LOVED IT.

Vegan cranberry oatmeal cookie

Vegan cranberry oatmeal cookie

H and I are off to a museum on the north shore of Boston in a few minutes to spend the day. So excited! You know when you’ve been meaning to visit a place for several years and every time you drive by you think “d’oh..still haven’t done that.” Finally today, I can say I’ve been to the Peabody Essex Museum (they have a real Chinese house..can’t wait to check it out) if all as planned! It only took ten years. Happy long weekend everyone..

8 responses to “A Very Vegan Week..

  1. mihl says:

    That sounds like a really interesting book. I hadn’t heard about it before, thaks for the tip. And have fun at the museum!

  2. Interesting book! It is pretty strange how people can adore their family parrot and eat chicken for dinner. Do people that have a pet pig eat bacon? *shudders*

    Ha! It really does sound like a hardware store! 😛

    The sandwich and the cookies look fabulous – but oh that foamy latte! *drool* It’s time to grab my Aerolatte and satisfy this craving! I’m so glad you’re joining E.A.T World! See you somewhere around the globe! 🙂

    • amandatrombley says:

      You’ll never believe what a River-inspired weekend I am having!! My new Aerolatte arrived just last night AND I finally watched Lost in Austen (why on earth did I wait so long?? Silly me). I’d tell you more but I’m off to make yet another chai latte and rewatch Amanda Price..ha! This movie is a keeper..and how I love that her name is Amanda too 😉

  3. Jes says:

    Oh man, I wish I’d known about City Feed & Supply when I was in Boston last year–the vegan sammies sound great!

    • amandatrombley says:

      Next time you are in town, lunch at City Feed & Supply and then dessert at Fiore’s (not that far apart) and fun fun browsing along Centre Street!! And I’m tagging along, okay? 😉

  4. fortheloveofguava says:

    Ooh.. must get that book… and hey still trying to decide if and where I should get my doctoral degree in psych… maybe I should go seek out vegan friendly terrain! 🙂

    and… HELLO… deli bread… that looks so delicious, and chewy, and … oh sorry were you not offering me a bite?

  5. fortheloveofguava says:

    P.S. I always think it’s so funny when people ask incredulously, “but will you raise your children VEGAN??” (a.) we’ll see about the children thing and b.) isn’t it easier to explain to a child why we don’t support violence, waste, environment destructing, etc rather than… hey don’t kick dogs, recycle, and here’s a hamburger…. hmmm…)

  6. […] potato chips.It could possibly be the best vegan sandwich in Boston..although the one I had at City Feed & Supply could be a […]

Leave a Reply

