Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Browsing through Burlington!

on January 10, 2010

This morning my friend Lisa and I were hoping to make the weekly free yoga class at the Lululemon store in the Burlington, MA about a 15 minute drive from my apartment in Cambridge. Unfortunately, the goos, specifically Keebler, had other ideas! It must have happened when I opened the degu house door to give the boys their breakfast. After sliding the door of the degu house shut, I jumped into the shower to get ready. About twenty minutes later, ready to run out the door, I opened the bathroom door to see a brown whirl whiz past me. I knew who it was. Keebler! Naughty little animal!! He is crazy for cables and electrical cords..his favorite nibble toy so he was probably looking to have a little fun while mom was occupied. I have looked for some sort of bitter spray that I can put on the cables to keep him from chewing on them but haven’t found one yet. I’m terrified of him electrocuting himself. Luckily, last weekend I had re-arranged the living room so most of the cables were out of his reach. He knew he was in trouble when he saw me open the door and he took off like a rocket with me in hot pursuit. I chased him around the living room, dining room and kitchen finally to have him surrender into his carrier. But our little game of tag meant that I was really late! By the time I picked up Lisa and we got to the mall, the class was filled. Sigh! But it’s hard to stay mad at Keebler so he was instantly forgiven…

The culprit is in the middle..

The culprit is in the middle..

So we decided to grab some breakfast but the mall wasn’t technically open yet. The Nordstrom Cafe was open though and I found some vegan options there!

Lululemon Athletica Burlington Mall

Nordstrom Cafe

Nordstrom Cafe

Nordstrom Cafe Burlington Mall

Nordstrom Cafe Burlington Mall

I picked up two Honest bars which are both vegan..yay! I saved these for later and ordered a bagel with jam and an earl grey tea steamer with soy for immediate consumption. It hit the spot.

Honest Bars

Honest Bars

Bagel from Nordstrom Cafe

Bagel from Nordstrom Cafe

After breakfast, we wandered the mall stopping at Sephora (they do have some vegan options but not many). The place gives my allergies a good workout..I’m usually sniffly by the time I leave. We then stopped by Blue Mercury which I thought was the same as Sephora but so much calmer and with some better vegan options. They loaded us up with samples! After Blue Mercury, we decided to go to the new Asian market that just opened down the street in November, H Mart. I love Asian markets so I jumped at the chance to go with Lisa who being Chinese-American is my own person tour guide into Asian markets. The parking lot was insanely busy..a good sign that an Asian super market can do so well in the burbs.

H Mart Burlington MA

H Mart Burlington MA

The produce department rivals my local Whole Foods in size. They have a wide variety of veggies and fruits and even some organic options!

Persimmons

Persimmons

Chinese Chives

Chinese Chives

Lisa tells me that these really do taste like apples..and they are super cute!

Apple Bananas

Apple Bananas

Mushrooms!

I’m not sure how to use some of these things..my tour guide was in another aisle..I’ll have to remember to look these up.

Crown Daisy

Crown Daisy

Sesame leaves

Sesame leaves

Silken tofu in a tube

Silken tofu in a tube

The kimchi section

The kimchi section

Samples!

The H Mart..inside..

The H Mart..inside..

It was hard to restrain myself but I was able to limit myself to some basics: parsley (for the goos), fried tofu, organic asian sweet potatoes (they’re white inside!), silken tofu in a tube, enoki mushrooms, and baby bok choi.

My loot..

My loot..

And finally a big thank you to the crafty Guava!! Guava has launched her own Etsy shop, Late to the Revolution, and she is selling amazing vegan crafties! I fell in love with her purple beret..a must for a new revolutionary! Guava packed my order with tons of gifties..thanks Guava!!

Late to the Revolution

Late to the Revolution

3 responses to “Browsing through Burlington!

  1. Jenn says:

    I love asian groceries. I wish that was there when I lived in MA. I used to go to the one in Union Square in Somerville. What the heck do you do with sesame leaves? I never thought of sesame as being an actual plant. I guess those little seeds have to grow into something!

    I too just discovered Guava’s etsy. I bought a hat with the built in headphones. Can’t wait to get it.

    • amandatrombley says:

      The Reliable Market in Union Square, right?! I have no idea what to do with the sesame leaves but you bet I’ll find out 😉

  2. fortheloveofguava says:

    Teehee… silly manda… you don’t have to thank me for supporting the revolution!! It’s not a business transaction lady… it’s a MOVEMENT!! 🙂 Glad you liked… and thank YOU!!

    Tell Keebler to be good… little anarchist… hehe… Dub’s eaten a couple of craft projects as of late and instantly lays down and looks up at me with the little whites of his eyes showing when I walk in… they really know how to work us don’t they?

Leave a Reply

