Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Holiday Recap…

on December 31, 2009

I’m late with this post..um, like by at least a week but here is it just so I can say, well, I’ve done it..

Cookies from the Boston Vegan Association’s cookie exchange mid-December. AMAZING! And fun..I met so many nice vegans I thought I was going to cry and demand a group hug..lol!

Cookies Veganos

Cookies Veganos

Paul's crinkly ginger molasses cookies

Paul's crinkly ginger molasses cookies

Jen's Double Ginger Whammy Cookies

Jen's Double Ginger Whammy Cookies

Quinn's Tahini Carob Chip Cookies

Quinn's Tahini Carob Chip Cookies

Our apartment is too small for a Christmas tree and I honestly feel terrible cutting one down (indirectly of course) just to have it dry out and die in a couple of weeks only to be hauled out to the trash. So this year, it was all about the “gift of a shrubbery”..minus the Knights Who Say “Ni” (I’m not a big Monty Python fan but I did love the Holy Grail). I found a large branch that someone had dragged into my now dormant veggie garden and stuffed it into a large vase that I filled with stones. Then I added some yew and holly clippings from the backyard. With some ornaments and a new set of LED lights, it was a perfect fit for our space! The Goos and I would sit in the dark with the overhead lights off and only the “tree” lights on..me thinking it was so pretty and they probably thinking, “Mom, is it sleepies time already?”

A Gift of a Shubbery

A Gift of a Shubbery

And finally, the favorite find of the season: holiday teas! I tried the Ginger Snappish from Bigelow (pretty good) and Sugar Plum Spice from Celestial Seasonings (also pretty good). But by far the biggest treasure is the Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride Tea also from Celestial Seasonings. Unfortunately, all the of the stores in the Boston area sold out of it very early but I was able to order more on Amazon.com.

Holiday Teas

Holiday Teas

Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride Tea

Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride Tea

Happy New Year’s everyone!!

4 responses to “Holiday Recap…

  1. mihl says:

    Yay for cookies and happy new year, Amanda!

  2. Ricki says:

    I’m entirely intrigued by those tahini carob cookies (any chance we can see the recipe–?) 😉

    I always stock up on the Celestial Seasonings Xmas teas this time of year because they’re so delish and stores run out so quickly. We don’t have the sugar cookie variety available here yet, but it does sound wonderful!

    Glad you enjoyed the Friendly’s story. . . ah, memories! What I wouldn’t give to be able to eat any of those flavors about now!

  3. Yeah, I missed baking xmas cookies. I will bake some cookies after my kitchen is done. Love xmas flavors tea. I bought Candy Cane Green Tea from Trader’s Joe and it is not bad.

  4. fortheloveofguava says:

    OH MAN! I might have to exchange my caffeine fix for some of those… they look so good… think they’re still around???

Leave a Reply

