Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Surprise, surprise!

on June 24, 2011

It’s good to post again. It’s been a whirley bird of a year for me and I felt an update was long overdue, again. Last June, I began the first of many months of making some big changes in my life. I haven’t had much downtime since then! It’s been a very difficult transition for sure. Thank god for my family and friends who have supported me through the thick and thin of it all. Last May I went to California for a week away and decided to leave my marriage which had steadily been falling apart. It was clear to me that I was much happier outside of the marriage. Now, of course, I still love my ex dearly. It’s just sometimes people grow apart, differently, and at different paces. That was the case with us.

I tried dating..it was painful honestly. Maybe I just wasn’t ready. Maybe I just wasn’t meeting the right people. But eventually someone appeared who, like me, had also been through a painful divorce, and we really hit it off. And he’s vegan. Which I didn’t know would be as important to me as it soon became apparent that it was. I had never been in a relationship with another vegetarian let alone a vegan. It was amazing to just not have food and ethics be an issue. Not to that mention he’s a sweetheart.

Which became even more important when I found out in January that I am pregnant. Now, fast forward to June, we’re expecting Baby Pickle in September. A little vegan baby! My little vegan baby who is kicking me as I type this. Due exactly one month before my 40th birthday. I had given up hope that I’d ever have my own child and decided adoption was probably where I was heading. I made my peace with this in December..just weeks before I found out about Pickle. It’s funny how life works, huh?

6 responses to “Surprise, surprise!

  1. mihl says:

    What awesome news! Congratulations!

  2. Jeannie says:

    Whoa! I just happened to check my RSS reader…and here is this amazing update from you. Mazel tov! I am so very happy for you.

  3. Jes says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m so glad to see you back here & so surprised and elated for you! The pregnancy must be such a gift! I hope you keep up with posting and maybe post some vegan baby-raising-ness. You know about Bonzai Aphrodite? She’s got amazing posts about vegan pregnancy and raising a vegan baby. Love her! http://bonzaiaphrodite.com/

    • amandatrombley says:

      Hi Jes–yes, once the shock wore off it became clear that this is a big cosmic gift from the universe! I hope to be posting more..now that some of my life is settling down..hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

