Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

True Bistro and Fighting Cabin Fever

on February 1, 2011
I hope for spring!

I hope for spring!

Today, it snowed again here in Cambridge. I was thinking about the snow last week and trying to remember if I could remember a winter as snowy as this one. According to the weather weenies, the winter of 95-96 was snowier so far. But I remember that winter well and know the reason: one blizzard that landed on April Fools’ Day that dumped several feet of snow on town. This winter is different..we’ve averaging a storm a week with 1-2 feet of new snow and not much melting in between.

I don’t like to complain too much about the seasons. Generally I enjoy the changes that we see here. This winter is different though. With a series of big changes in my life recently which ultimately are ending up as positive changes, life can seem a little scary and crazy lately. We all go through times like this, right? Between a divorce, leaving my business, and moving to the apartment upstairs from my old one (so I don’t have to leave my dear little squirrel friends), 2010 was one kicker of a year for me. The relationship wasn’t working out..we probably dragged it out longer than it needed. I’m so happy to be free of something that was painful and non-functional for both of us. So there is sadness but also a great deal of relief and happiness. I had tired of trying to make my business work with my ex..it was just too difficult..so I’m moving on and have had the amazing good luck to stumble upon work that is incredibly enjoyable and fulfilling. And my friends rallied to help me find a new home and then move me into it. I’m a lucky girl. Very lucky.

So what gives? Why am I so down? Not to blame it on the weather but okay maybe I will! I love being mobile and being outside and with winters like this neither are possible for long. My walking is hindered as there is just no place to put the snow that covers the sidewalks. Driving and parking are hellish. Try as I might, I do not enjoy winter sports quite the way I enjoy the activities of summer. Welcome to Cabin Fever 2011. Major bummer.

Two weeks for $25 at the local yoga studio down the street. Inviting a friend over for tea. Taking a hot shower. Booking a trip to California. All good coping strategies. But even better? Treating yourself to a lovely vegan lunch all by yourself when your budget is only slighter higher than your spirits..which t’ain’t saying much folks! So I decided to walk, in the snow, several blocks outside of Davis Square to the lovely True Bistro to eat lunch by myself with cell phone turned off so I could concentrate on the peacefulness that the snow brings and hope some of it is absorbed by my brain.

Flowers seem like a distant memory today

Flowers seem like a distant memory today

Obviously having fun with my camera ;)

Obviously having fun with my camera ;)

Tea service!

Tea service!

Ginger lemon tea

Ginger lemon tea

Fried tofu Bánh mì baguette, pickled radish and carrot, tempeh pate, Vegenaise

Fried tofu Bánh mì baguette, pickled radish and carrot, tempeh pate, Vegenaise

Potato salad

Potato salad

Snowy view

Snowy view

Oh greenery I miss you!

Oh greenery I miss you!

Grass and artichokes

Grass and artichokes

Coconut lemon rice pudding

Coconut lemon rice pudding

Ahhh..that was just what I needed. I think I can make it to the end of February now. Okay, well, at least until we ride out the rest of this current storm. We’ll see what next week brings ;)

5 responses to “True Bistro and Fighting Cabin Fever

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh how I heart you. You are an amazing woman who deserves the best of everything! Spring flowers, love, amazing vegan sandwiches…

  2. Jes says:

    I didn’t realize you’d been going through a divorce–what a tough year it must have been! But you sound like you’re on the upswing, hurray! Your single vegan lunch looks amazingly therapeutic & delicious, and that tulip just brings joy to my heart!

    • amandatrombley says:

      Thanks Jes! Yes, there’s something about that red tulip that really added some needed contrast on a grey snowy day!

  3. mihl says:

    I am so, so sorry to hear about your divorce! Good to know that you consider all your changes as positive changes now. That#s a great way to look at things.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

