Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Tortilla Pie + Maria & Ricardo’s Tortillas

on August 10, 2010

I’m so lazy lately. My motivation to cook this time of year always fizzles out because the kitchen is so warm. As a result, the very basic cooking that I’ve done in the past month has been minimal and easy as whatever I can throw together.  A simple recipe that I just love follows below. When the customer service team from Maria and Ricardo’s tortillas contacted me a few weeks ago to see if I’d like to sample their products I was thrilled. Tortillas? Of course! Who doesn’t love tortillas. I was excited for two reasons. First, Maria and Ricardo’s is a local company based out of Canton, Massachusetts, not far from Boston. Second, many of their products are certified vegan!

A box arrived at my office a few days later..I had it sent to the office instead of home because I didn’t want the tortillas sitting around in the heat and humidity at home on the front porch. I was happy to see that they sent me not only their traditional white flour tortillas but also some whole wheat ones. I started with the whole wheat ones because, mistakenly, I thought that I’d prefer the white flour tortillas. I mean, as much as I love whole wheat nowadays my inner kid still loves white flour best! What can I do with her? Well, I don’t need to worry. The whole wheat tortillas were delicious. I actually preferred them over the white flour ones..although the white flour ones were also delicious. The whole wheat tortillas were consumed mainly in wraps..below is an unglamorous shot of a chickpea mash wrap..I didn’t cook any of the whole wheat tortillas because running even the toaster oven in July was unbearable.

Chickpea rollup

Chickpea rollup w/fresh snap peas

This past week the weather improved and we have beautiful weather here in Boston. I was finally able to run the toaster oven to make one of my favorite dishes: tortilla pie! I don’t really remember the inspiration for this dish..I can tell you it was from my vegetarian, pre-vegan days so the original recipe definitely wasn’t vegan. It was a snap to veganize and if you’re following a low-fat diet such as McDougall, this is a fairly low-fat dish that is very filling and delicious. I started with a ton of veggies that I had in the fridge. The onions were onion slices leftover from a recent vegan bbq. The peppers were from my friend Paul’s CSA farm share..he can’t eat them so I get the goods. Thanks Paul! Two identical looking peppers..one was hot, one not. Go figure! Plus tomato, regular green pepper and corn from some corn on the cob. Of course, you can add whatever you want here..just leave the stuff that is better fresh until after the baking such as cilantro and avocado of course.

So you’ll need:

  • 3 tortillas
  • A can of refried beans
  • A bunch of chopped veggies such as onion, tomato, peppers, and corn
  • Salsa
  • Some kind of vegan cheeze (optional)
Chopped veggies

Chopped veggies for the filling

I used a pie plate which ended up being the perfect size. You can put a little spray oil on the bottom of the dish if you’d like..it helps eliminate some sticking but it’s not necessary. Place your first tortilla on the bottom and spread with refried beans.

First layer..spread the refried beans

First layer..spread the refried beans

Three tortillas is all that was needed for this dish which makes approximately four servings. After you spread the refried beans, top with half of your chopped veggies.

First layer complete

First layer complete

Repeat for the next layer..think lasagna and you’ll get it. When you’re done, drizzle salsa on top of the stack before you place the final tortilla. You don’t want to do this on top of the final tortilla because you don’t want it to be wet..it won’t brown up that way.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

In the oven @ 400 degree fahrenheit for 10-15 minutes until it browns up.

Fresh out of the oven

Fresh out of the oven

I didn’t have any vegan cheeze in the house so I used this wonderful new to me vegan cheeze spread “We Can’t Call It Cheese.” I found it out in California in May and was disappointed that I couldn’t find it back on the east coast until last week when a vegan friend of mine mentioned that she got some at our local Whole Foods. If you want to use Daiya or Follow Your Heart, add that to the top of the stack before baking.

"We Can't Say It's Cheese" vegan cheeze spread

"We Can't Say It's Cheese" vegan cheeze spread

Yum! Topped with avocado and more salsa..

Dinnah is ready!

Dinnah is ready!

Thanks to Maria and Ricardo’s for letting me try their product. I will definitely buy this brand at my local Whole Foods. I have had numerous complaints re the 365 brand that Whole Foods carries (not nearly as tasty and they mold very quickly in this weather..I’ve actually bought some and found them moldy the same day of purchase). Maria and Ricardo’s were in my fridge for over two weeks and they were always fresh tasting and delicious.

6 responses to “Tortilla Pie + Maria & Ricardo’s Tortillas

  1. Mihl says:

    I wish we had all those tortillas to choose from here in Germany. But we only have preserve ladded horrible ones. I need to make some at home to try your tortilla pie!

  2. Nicole Marie says:

    Yummy!! I can’t wait to try that tortilla pie. Hey do they make corn tortillas as well??

  3. Gorgeous dinnah! I love the step by step pictures! The tortillas do look yummy. Last time we ate store-bought tortillas they were pretty yucky. What was the brand? Hmmm. Can’t remember. Anyway, they were pasty and soggy – yuck!

  4. Gauri Radha गौरी राधा says:

    Looks very appetizing!!

  5. Gita says:

    Dear friends, Brahmakumaris are vegetarian… and emphasize that vegetarian diet feeds the soul as well as the body. There is Brahmakumaris meditation…that relaxes the mind…nurtures a healthy balance between inner and outer worlds… recharge… rejuvenate the inner-self…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

