Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Foodbuzz 24×24: V.I.C.E.–the Vegan Ice Cream Event

on June 28, 2010
An old fashioned ice cream maker was the centerpiece filled with sunflowers

Our centerpiece: An old fashioned ice cream maker filled with sunflowers

When my proposal for the Foodbuzz 24X24 event was selected, summer had just hit. It’s humid and hot here in Boston. My proposal suggested that it was time for a vegan ice cream event or “V.I.C.E.” as I took to calling it. I loved the idea of covering a traditional topic such as ice cream in the summer but with a vegan spin to show that yes, vegan ice cream is really delicious!

Despite our winters here in the northeast, we New Englanders eat a lot of ice cream. In fact:
“New Englanders [...] consume more ice cream per capita than people in any other region in the country: 22 pints a year, according to Bob Bryson, executive director of the New England Ice Cream Restaurant Association in Merrimack, N.H.”–Jane Roy Brown and Bill Regan, Boston Globe August 28, 2005

This doesn’t surprise me at all. As anyone who grew up in this region can tell you, ice cream has long been a regular part of family and social outings especially in the summer months. Back in the day, whether you and your family were visiting the “big” city of Boston (Boston is small but not to New Englanders!) to watch a Red Sox game and then stop by Bailey’s ice cream parlor or if you were escaping the heat at one of our many lakes in a cabin nestled away in a pine forest, going for an ice cream cone was always a must.

So what to do when you decide to go vegan? Most ice cream places do not serve non-dairy ice cream. There are some vegan ice cream options at markets such as Whole Foods or a local natural foods store. A lot of vegans I know are also quite skillful at making their own ice cream. While it’s great that we have these options, we do miss out on the whole social aspect of going for ice cream as a summer ritual.

I decided to that a vegan ice cream social was a must. Indulgence would be the word of the day. We can go to the gym later, right?! Using Facebook, email and just plain word-of-mouth, I told all the local vegans I knew and they in turn told other vegans. By the end of the last week, we had close to 35 people who wanted to attend. The emails were often cute and would say something like this “Hi Amanda, I’m a friend of X and I heard about your vegan ice cream party. Is it okay if I come and bring my girlfriend/boyfriend/partner/friend.” How could I say no? =)

So let’s get down to business! The ingredients. Nowadays it’s so simple to replace dairy-based ice creams with nut, soy and coconut milks. The result is delicious.

We had some home-crafted vegan ice creams including:

  • Mint-chip ice cream with a base of coconut milk and cashews
  • Mud pie ice cream also with a base of coconut milk and cashews
  • Chocolate hazelnut gelato with a base of almond milk
  • Rocky road ice cream made with coconut milk
  • Raw “cheesecake” ice cream made with young coconuts
New-fashioned ice cream sundae..100% vegan!

New-fashioned ice cream sundae with mint chip coconut milk ice cream..100% vegan!

Mud pie ice cream sundae..also 100% vegan

Mud pie ice cream sundae..also 100% vegan

The sundae bar

The sundae bar

For toppings we had:

  • Fudge sauce
  • Raspberry wine sauce
  • Strawberry sauces
  • Peanut butter sauce
  • Caramel sauce
  • Marshmallow topping
  • Chocolate chips
  • Crushed sandwich cookies
  • Colored and chocolate sprinkles
  • Ice cream cones
  • Strawberries
  • Cherries
  • Bananas
  • Two kinds of whipped cream..a soy and a rice milk based one

Vegan whipped cream

Vegan whipped cream

Line for the sundae bar

Line for the sundae bar

They don't call it an ice cream social for nothing!

They don't call it an ice cream social for nothing!

13 responses to “Foodbuzz 24×24: V.I.C.E.–the Vegan Ice Cream Event

  1. Michelle says:

    Yum!!! Looks like a lot of fun!

  2. Mihl says:

    That’s awesome! I want some ice cream now!

  3. Jessica says:

    I want some! What a fabulous idea. I don’t know any other vegans in my little corner of the world, but perhaps I could get some of our church members together for something like this. Thanks for sharing…btw – any recipes?

  4. Amanda says:

    You totally knocked this 24×24 out of the park! Wish I was invited!!! :)

    • amandatrombley says:

      Oh no! I just read your blog and you WERE in Boston that weekend. lol..what a shame, you definitely would have been invited! It would have been fun to meet another vegan Amanda in person. Drat.. =)

  5. Heather says:

    Love vegan ice cream, love the event. :) Good job!

  6. Sarah says:

    What fun! I’m going to start experimenting with vegan ice cream, this was a great inspiration! Raspberry wine sauce sounds soooooo dreamy.

  7. How AWESOME!! You rock! All those toppings! Fudge! Strawberry sauce! Marshmallow! Whipped cream! I think I’m having some sort of stroke – or maybe it’s a case of ice cream deficiency! :D

    Is that rice whip good? I tried the soy whipped and didn’t care for it too much, but I have been wanting to try the rice one since I saw it a few months ago who knows where.

    • Amanda says:

      Hey River! I’ve got a freezer full of vegany frozen goodness so can you find your way up to a northeast national park this summer? ;)

      I actually like the rice whip better than the soy one. The soy one is fine but has a slightly beany taste to me. The rice one has a slight rice taste but that is preferable to the beany taste (at least to me!).

  8. Your party looks like it was fun and delicious! I would love to try vegan ice cream soon. Congrats on the Foodbuzz 24×24

  9. Jes says:

    Oh my gosh, love love love! What a beautiful spread of vegan ice cream goodness! Is the vegan ice cream place not in Boston anymore? I remember it was in a crappy location down by the symphony hall–hard to get to–but they did have some great flavors. Your guys’ look much better though!

  10. Gauri Radha गौरी राधा says:

    Those vegan ice-creams look delicious :D

  11. [...] this coming Saturday..my second annual V.I.C.E. #2..Vegan Ice Cream Event! (See last year’s V.I.C.E. here) Last year, for whatever reason, I got it into my head that local vegans needed an ice cream [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

