Gemüsings—Vegan Musings

Musings on food, friends, furries and family

Vegan Hot Chocolate: Coco-cocoa!

on December 30, 2009

Oh, how I HATED those 4th grade book reports. I mean, let’s just put the pretense aside, no one listened to a word of anyone else’s report and rushed out to buy the book, right??! Thank goodness book reports are a thing of the past (only to be replaced with powerpoint presentations, conference calls and software demos if you are me..ha ha ha!). Nowadays, my book “reporting” is all for pleasure..and oh yes, pleasure it is when you are reading vegan cookbooks. Yes, I really read them..the introductions are usually pretty interesting and I just love it when the authors include funny little notes or side stories about the recipes! Now I have a bit of a vegan cookbook problem..I’m addicted. I just love ‘em! So when a friend of mine mentioned that he and his wife had several mealtime successes from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink and Be Vegan, I thought, to the library. Which is–in my case–just a few mouse clicks away. The book arrived right before Christmas and I made the Lemon Garlic Pasta for our main course and the Egg Nog Pie with Rum Sauce for dessert. I think the pasta could have benefited from doubling the sauce (that was my fault, not the book’s) but it was still tasty. The Egg Nog Pie was a big hit though! I was a lazy blogger and didn’t take a picture but luckily my mother did:

Egg Nog Ice Cream Pie w/Rum Sauce

Egg Nog Ice Cream Pie w/Rum Sauce

Next up to try was the coco-cocoa, a coconut milk hot cocoa. Absolutely delicious! Most vegan cocoas I’ve tried with almond or soy are, well, okay..but not great. The coconut milk adds a creaminess that is hard to achieve with soy or other nut or seed milks. I topped it off with a few Dandies’ vegan marshmallows that I scored from the Boston Vegetarian Festival last month. Served with a few Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe-Joes and what a chocolately love fest it was!

Coco-cocoa with Candy Cane Joe-Joes

Coco-cocoa with Candy Cane Joe-Joes

Candy Cane Joe-Joes From Trader Joe's

Candy Cane Joe-Joes From Trader Joe's

Coco-cocoa with Dandies' Marshmallows

Coco-cocoa with Dandies' Marshmallows

Since it’s going to be four degrees outside tonight and not warm up a whole lot more tomorrow, I’m planning on having another cup of coco-cocoa very soon. And yay–so can everyone else because the recipe is posted here!

Check out the TofuXpress giveaway at “I Am Gluten-Free” as well as some of her amazing recipes!

4 responses to “Vegan Hot Chocolate: Coco-cocoa!

  1. mihl says:

    I am a happy owner of a box of candy cane joe joe’s. *runs off to grab some cocoa and a cookie* Happy new year to you!

  2. Mmm, hot coco-cocoa! I love hot chocolate, and I always add a bit of coconut milk to mine too! :-)

    I love my copy of Eat, Drink and Be Vegan too, and Vive Le Vegan.

    Congrats on the new blog! It looks great! :-)

  3. fortheloveofguava says:

    ooh.. I love the intros too! And… MINT JOJO’S ARE My FAVORITE!! I meant to make oreo cookie cupcakes from VCTOTW but never got around to it… I may have to pilfer out for after holiday sales on both counts…

  4. mangocheeks says:

    Last year I was for the first time ever able to buy marshmallows that were suitable for vegans and vegetarian and enjoy a hot choc drink. Why is this unusual, because i live in the U.K. a tad expensive, but okay for a treat now and again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

